Time, Wisdom, and Work

Last week was somewhat stressful because my plans were yet again challenged by God. Haha, I always thought I was going into speech therapy; but recently, that desire has really…urm…died down. Instead I’ve really been leaning towards the wedding design/planning field. And as of now, I think this is where God is really leading me (but I am going to finish up my post-bacc program!) Anyhow, I thought I’d just share some verses about using your time wisely…because our days our very short, even though they seem pretty darn long right now (haha). As I was reading through these verses, I got reminded that we need to be productive and diligent workers…not for ourselves; but so that we can glorify God through the work that we do. Here are the verses I went through:

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Eph 5:15-17)

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom” (Psalm 90:12)

“For which of you, desiring to build a tower, does not first sit down and count the cost, whether he has enough to complete it?” (Luke 14:28)

“But seek first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:33)

“O Lord, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days; let me know how fleeting I am! Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath! Selah.” (Psalm 39:4-5)

“I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgement.” (Romans 12:3)

As I’ve been trying to take some proactive steps to get my foot into the wedding design/planning area…I REALLY want to remember to remain humble and not get so caught up in my abilities. I want to remember to have a SOBER mind; remembering that I am just a person whose days are short, and that I need an all-powerful God to support me and guide me through it all. I forgot where I read this…I think it was a Chuck Smith commentary…but he said something like this:

Once our work becomes self-glorifying, our work becomes ineffective for the Kingdom of God.

I was like O.O So yes, lets be mindful of how we spend our time…lets not keep busy, but be productive. Let’s be humble and sober-minded. Let’s glorify God! :)

Your sister,

Hannah

Leave a comment