Growing Pains

IMG_7305

I don’t know about you, but during those periods of time where life gets tough, and challenging, I can only think of one quote: “it hurts so good.” It’s difficult to get through the challenges, and each step may be painful, or stressful, but in the end, I know it’s for the best, and for my own good.

It’s like exercising: I hate it, and when I do it my whole body hurts, but I know it’s to help keep healthy–It’s a good kind of hurt because I’m getting stronger. In the same way I know that God’s using these times of stretching to grow me in ways that I couldn’t imagine–it hurts, but it’s a good kind of hurt because you know you’re benefitting from it. We go through growing pains.

Being in post-grad life as well as being a new small-business owner (I’m a portraits & wedding photographer) has pushed me into so many different challenges that at times make me feel a bit overwhelmed or anxious. At times I find myself overwhelmed at times with the new responsibilities, or ministries, I have, all the business aspects I have to learn and do, and trying to figure out how to financially support myself. I also find myself anxious when it comes to meeting & working with new people, making new friends, & finding new fellowships (I had quite a lot of close fellowship in college, and starting over has been difficult). For instance, I know I need to find local fellowship and it’s for my own good, but getting myself to  that point is something that is greatly out of my comfort zone. It takes a lot out of me to push myself to go to group events alone!

Though this all might not seem like a lot to you, but just as I believe each person has their own comfort zones and stress levels, I guess these things together cause me to feel a bit anxious sometimes. (I’m sure many of you are probably going through amounts of challenges and struggles on your own, too!)

Needless to say, God’s been stretching me so much and it’s been a journey of trusting in Him in so many different ways! 2013 to this first month of the new year, I’ve just been seeing how He’s moving me and guiding me into situations where I need to fully trust in Him, and step out in faith and in courage. I’ll admit, I wasn’t the happiest camper or the most eager to go through all He had in store for me, but I know fully that it’s all for my own good… Oh, growing pains! Haha

This year, I started reading a little devotional book, Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, (Thanks Jessica for the recommendation!) along with my personal devos through the Word, & what God spoke into my heart today was such a great reminder and encouragement in the midst of all the stretching!

January 22

Strive to trust Me in more and more areas of your life. Anything that tends to make you anxious is a growth opportunity. Instead of running away from these challenges, embrace them, eager to gain all the blessings I have hidden in the difficulties. If you believe that I am sovereign over every aspect of your life, it is possible to trust Me in all situations. Don’t waste energy regretting the way things are or thinking about what might have been. Start at the present moment–accepting things exactly as they are–and search for My way in the midst of those circumstances.

Trust is like a staff you can lean on as you journey uphill with Me. If you are trusting in Me consistently, the staff will bear as much of your weight as needed. Lean on, trust, and be confident in Me with all your heart and mind.

This devotional book is a compilation of writings from Sarah young’s journals of what she felt the Lord was speaking into her heart. It’s to be read as if this is what Jesus is saying to you. Of course it is not the Bible or to be interpreted as a Bible, but it’s a devotional book made to help you see what Jesus Himself would be speaking to you. It also comes with scripture to help support or reference what she felt the God was telling her. Today’s scripture was Proverbs 3:5-6 and Psalms 52:8! Proverbs 3:5-6 stuck out to me most between these passages:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

It’s such a comfort to remember both God’s sovereignty, and His love for us, when going through these times of stretching. As we look to Him, He will guide us in everything!

As I finished reading this devotional book and went on to my own personal devos, I was in awe with how timely they were along with Jesus Calling! Paul’s letter to the Romans in Romans 7 in which he spoke of His human nature, truly exemplified my own heart (of course)! It convicted me of those times when I know God is pushing me to do something out of my comfort zone, or telling me to not do this or that, and because of my weakness, I give in to my flesh. (For example, sometimes I find myself directly, and disobediently decide to stay in, though I can feel the Spirit telling me to go to a bible study where I’d be surrounded by people I don’t know yet…) Man do I love when God speaks so clearly to my heart! But again… it hurts so good!

For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.

(verses 18-19)

Of course this is specifically talking about sin in context, but Romans 7 reminded me of my need to be filled with the Holy Spirit, and my thankfulness that God loved me so much to give me His Spirit.

Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!

(verses 24-25)

I so greatly need the Holy Spirit that I might find strength to do that which I know I ought to do to pursue His righteousness, and desire to do, since my flesh is so weak. I need God’s help so often in being obedient to His will and His callings!

God may put us in situations where we might feel like we’re being stretched too much… it may seem too difficult, too scary, and it is too much for us to handle alone. But let us take heart in knowing that this stretching is a period of time where God is refining us–teaching us, molding us, pushing us to trust in Him. Let us all be encouraged of the strength and power (& comfort) He gives us through His Holy Spirit, our great Comforter (John 14:16).

This all being said, I just wanted to encourage those of you out there going through your own stretching period of struggles and challenges! It hurts! I know, but it’s a good hurt–One to grow us more in Him, and in His likeness! :)

Grace & Peace,
Margarbee

Leave a comment